Starting a Nonprofit Charitable Organization
June 24, 2010 by adminst
Filed under Domain Development, Featured Articles, Legal matters, Public Matters, Public Resources, Website Announcements, Website News
Have you always thought about or wanted to leave the world a better place than you found it by starting a NonProfit Charitable Organization? A nonprofit charitable organization is a corporation with a main objective in support of issues or matters of private interest, or public concern (such as arts, charities, charitable work, education, research, politics, religion, or some other work) for non-commercial purposes.
There are a few different primary types of non-profits, one of them being a 501(c)(3), which is exempt from income tax and possibly also real estate property taxes, and able to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions. While it’s usually beneficial to consult with an attorney who is experienced in the area of nonprofit and charitable law to help avoid mistakes sometimes made when they trying to incorporate a nonprofit on their own, many people have been successfully established a non-profit on their own.
We recently finished redesigning our CharitableOrganizations.com web site, which is a domain name we have owned for 11-years, since 1999. It’s a non-profit’s guide about how to successfully establish a 501(c)(3) nonprofit Charitable corporation.
If anyone can suggest site improvements or relevant new content additions it would be appreciated if you posted any ideas.
We would appreciate any comments you have about charitable organizations and non-profits – which feedback we could also get permission to add to our site as we are looking for charity personal feedback to expand the charitable organizations website, which site you can visit by going to Charitable Organizations site now, or clicking-on the picture.
Non-US Address Results in WIPO Loss Protection!
June 11, 2010 by adminst
Filed under Domains & Websites, Legal matters, Money Matters, Public Resources, Website & Domain Issues
The FirstQuote.com WIPO Case Decision (domain kept) and its significant issues & deciding factors:
In our view, the most significant aspect of this case and perhaps in every other case ever presented to WIPO is this statement extracted from the case below: Moreover, the Respondent is based in Hong Kong, SAR of China, while protection of the Complainant’s 1STQUOTE-Marks and the Complainant’s business are limited to the United States of America.
That certainly is an incredibly powerful reason to have your domains registered at a non-USA address!
More… the respondent denies the complainant’s contentions. Respondent alleges that the phrase “First Quote” is the featured tagline for thousands of insurance, financial and legal websites and can be heard in numerous ads from agencies asking to “come in today for your first quote”. Upon the Respondent’s allegations, the disputed domain name is comprised of a generic term, which may be used in hundreds of ways, and the Complainant is attempting to leverage the domain name from its owner by using the UDRP forum to reverse hijack the domain.
The Respondent further states that there are 10 active trademarks for FIRST QUOTE in the US, that there is no proof that the Complainant is the sole owner of and creator of the phrase “first quote” and that the disputed domain name was first registered on January 15, 1997, 6 years prior to the Complainant’s claim of “first use” of the 1STQUOTE-trademarks and even before the Complainant was established, which also shows that the phrase had already been popular before complainant tried to claim it.
The Respondent further argues that he never intended to act in bad faith. Furthermore, according to the Respondent’s allegations, the Complainant has no website, brand, domain name, or anything else associated with “first quote” (rather than 1STQUOTE), and the Complainant does not even own the domain name <1stquote.com>. The Respondent also requests the Complainant should be fined for Reverse Domain Hijacking.
With regard to the Respondent’s bad faith registration and use, the Complainant contends that the Respondent registered the disputed domain name with actual or at least constructive notice of the Complainant’s 1STQUOTE-Marks and was using the disputed domain name in bad faith primarily to intentionally attract for financial gain Internet users to the Respondent’s web site by misleading and confusing Internet users who are searching for the Complainant’s website but, merely, misspell or mistype the brand name of the Complainant’s 1STQUOTE on-line application processing service. Respondent has denied these assertions and provided evidence of substantial third parties’ use of the term “first quote”, including the provision of services similar to those of the Complainant.
It seems to be more likely than not to this Panel, the Respondent acquired the disputed domain name, as he contends because of its meaning and because of the substantial third party use of the underlying words, and not with a view to the Complainant and its 1STQUOTE-Marks. The Complainant’s 1STQUOTE-Marks are not used identically in the disputed domain name but with a different spelling, and they enjoy less than average distinction, if any distinction at all, as they are made up of two generic words which are commonly used together.
Moreover, the Respondent is based in Hong Kong, SAR of China, while protection of the Complainant’s 1STQUOTE-Marks and the Complainant’s business are limited to the United States of America.As a result, on the balance of evidence, the Complainant has failed in this Panel’s assessment to prove that the disputed domain name was registered in bad faith, i.e. with the Complainant in mind.
We would appreciate any comments you have about trademarks and WIPO cases – which feedback we could also add to our web site since we are actively looking for personal feedback about trademark issues to expand the web site, which site you can visit by going to Internet Intellectual Property now, or clicking-on the image below. Thank you.
Getting a Trademark Hassle which takes Forever
November 29, 2009 by David
Filed under Legal matters, Personal Matters, Public Matters, Website Announcements
I finally got my federal trademark application approved by the USPTO. A very long and tedious trademark process which required lots of work, hassle, time and fees, taking nearly 2 years from start to finish.
During the ordeal I even had to deal with a lawfirm who filed a Trademark Trail & Review Board opposition lawsuit against my use on the B.S. grounds it was similar to a clients domain name (which involved different words and also not even a registered mark). Lots of other stuff happened too which I won’t go into at this time.
Here is the long chain of events copied from the uspto.gov website:
2009-11-20 – Law Office Registration Review Completed
2009-11-19 – Allowed for Registration – Principal Register (SOU accepted)
2009-11-16 – Statement of use processing complete
2009-11-15 – Amendment to Use filed
2009-11-15 – TEAS Statement of Use Received
2009-06-09 – Extension 1 granted
2009-05-21 – Extension 1 filed
2009-06-09 – Case Assigned To Intent To Use Paralegal
2009-05-21 – TEAS Extension Received
2008-11-25 – Noa Mailed – SOU Required From Applicant
2008-10-15 – TTAB Release Case To Trademarks
2008-10-15 – Opposition terminated for Proceeding
2008-10-15 – Opposition dismissed for Proceeding
2008-07-10 – Opposition instituted for Proceeding
2008-07-10 – Opposition papers filed
2008-06-10 – Published for opposition
2008-05-21 – Notice of publication
2008-05-05 – Law Office Publication Review Completed
2008-05-02 – Approved for Pub – Principal Register (Initial exam)
2008-05-02 – Previous allowance count withdrawn
2008-04-28 – Withdrawn From Pub – Og Review Query
2008-04-15 – Law Office Publication Review Completed
2008-04-15 – Assigned To LIE
2008-04-09 – Approved for Pub – Principal Register (Initial exam)
2008-04-09 – Examiner’s Amendment Entered
2008-04-09 – Notification Of Examiners Amendment E-Mailed
2008-04-09 – Examiners amendment e-mailed
2008-04-09 – Examiners Amendment -Written
2008-03-31 – Assigned To Examiner
2008-01-06 – Notice Of Design Search Code And Pseudo Mark Mailed
2008-01-05 – New Application Entered In Tram
Pros & Cons of using a Foreign Domain Registrar
October 14, 2009 by Anonymous
Filed under Domains & Websites, Legal matters, Money Matters, Public Matters, Website & Domain Issues
Domain name registrar and parking provider Fabulous is a top-notch choice and industry leader with excellent prices, benefits and great support. However, the liability avoidance reason mentioned by Rick at Rick Latona’s site for using a non-US based registrar such as Fabulous.com seems to be a double-edge sword in that I have been told by a well known domain attorney that it could be a big negative. The reason it can become a major issue is apparently due to the dispute rules the plaintiff can file a lawsuit either where the registrant lives *or* where the registrar is located. If they know you are in the US and the registrar is in Australia (in the case of Fabulous.com) and they are a large corporation they may have a law firm or business presence (possibly an office) in AU where they could file suit there instead of in the US thus making you travel all the way down-under to AU for court appearances and also a need for you to hire an AU IP Attorney at high cost.


